Quiche? Or Tart? Leek and Cherry Tomato Pie-Type-Thing

What makes a tart a tart and a quiche a quiche? Incredibly easy, awesome for leftovers, here is one way of using up the cherry tomatoes my lovely neighbours give me when I am all bruschetta’ed-out.

tart

 

Make 1 and 1/2 batches of thermomix pastry, I use spelt flour for this.

  • 300g spelt flour
  • 150g butter

Speed 6 for around 10 seconds.

Add 1/2t salt and 80g chilled water, bring together on speed 6 for a few seconds to form a ball, then knead for around20 seconds.

Form a flat-ish round shape, wrap in plastic and refrigerate for 20 minutes. Then, roll it out and lay it in a tart/flan/quiche tin. Put baking paper in the pastry case, add some weights and blind bake for ten minutes at 220 degrees. Remove paper and weights and bake for a further 5-10 minutes at 180 degrees.

At this point, I allow it to cool completely, not sure if that is necessary, it just happens that way for me as I tend to do this part in the morning.

Add to the pastry case, spread across the bottom, 1 grated zucchini, sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Add a finely sliced leek to the zucchini base.

Add chopped cherry tomatoes.

Whisk 3 eggs with a little milk and either some crème fraiche or sour cream, around two big tablespoons. Pour over the tomatoes, then sprinkle with grated cheese, or shredded parmesan.

Bake for 30 minutes at around 170 degrees. Eat hot or cold.

About pinksinks

Just a little place where I can store my recipes as I make them up, so I won't forget them. View all posts by pinksinks

Leave a Reply

