Cherry Tomato and Orange Jam

Another load of delicious tomatoes arrived today, so decided to try something a little different. This is what I came up with.

jam

Add to the thermomix:

  • 1kg of cherry tomatoes
  • 1 finely chopped onion
  • 200g of rapadura sugar
  • 100g butter
  • zest of one large orange
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1t pepper

Cook at Varoma temp, speed 1, reverse, for around 1 hour and 15 minutes, measuring cup OFF. You will need to sit the basket on top to stop it spitting everywhere. Keep checking it, once it starts looking like a sticky, thick jam, it is ready.

Spoon it in to a jar, once cool, put in the fridge. I boil my jar in a pot on the stove first, as a token effort at sterilization.

About pinksinks

Just a little place where I can store my recipes as I make them up, so I won't forget them. View all posts by pinksinks

2 responses to “Cherry Tomato and Orange Jam

  • barelypoppins

    This sounds great. I’ve just recently heard of tomato and pineapple jam too, probably not too dissimilar to this. Is this something you would have on toast like jam or more like cheese and pickles?

Leave a Reply

