Choc N Two Veg Cake

I have always baulked at hiding vegetables in kids foods, I’d rather they know what they were eating and make choices. But, after years of them making choices that didn’t fit with mine, I decided to have a crack at making a cake that tasted fabulous and could be considered healthy too.

This is what I came up with. It was as rich and moist as a mud cake, super filling and super decadent. And the kids absolutely smashed it. Oh, and in keeping with my theory on not hiding veggies, I told them the ingredients after the plates were licked clean.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Here is how I made it:

Blitz in the Thermomix on speed 8 for around 15 seconds:

  • 1 zucchini
  • 1/2 cup of mashed cooked pumpkin
  • 2 eggs
  • 60g butter

Add and mix well on speed 6 for around 20 seconds:

  • 250g spelt flour
  • 3t baking powder
  • 80g raw cacao powder or cocoa
  • 150g milk
  • 150g sugar

Pour in to a lined fairly large tin and bake at 180 degrees for 50 minutes.

About pinksinks

Just a little place where I can store my recipes as I make them up, so I won't forget them. View all posts by pinksinks

Leave a Reply

